Posted in DVD

Dan in Real Life re-watched

I like this movie a lot. I am not sure if it is my favorite movie with Steve Carell. It might be. I still have my DVD that I bought in 2008.

Carell stars as Dan, an advice columnist and father. His wife has been dead for four years, As the movie opens, Dan is taking his daughters to his family’s annual vacation weekend. At a bookstore, he meets a woman named Marie (Juliette Binoche) and feels something he has not felt in years.

Marie turns out to be his brother Mitch’s new girlfriend. She feels something for Dan too. The weekend starts to become complicated.

Juliette Binoche is really good in this movie. She and Carell make a likable couple. Dane Cook seems a bit of an odd choice to be Carell’s brother Mitch.

This is a good movie but it is not a laugh riot. I think it holds up on re-watching.

Leave a Reply

