Posted in Movies

Movie Year 2014 in Review part 2

top ten films 2014 on finale thought

  1. Captain America: the Winter Soldier
  2. Rise of the Planet of the Apes
  3. Guardians of the Galaxy
  4. the Fault in Our Stars
  5. X-Men Days of Future Past
  6. Birdman
  7. Nightcrawler
  8. John Wick
  9. the Equalizer
  10. Hercules

I think that is the top ten list. I didn’t see Boyhood, Life Itself, or Foxcatcher.  (I live in a non-select movie city.) I also didn’t see 22 Jump Street and a few other major films. Maybe I overrated a film or two but I think this is the list.

It seems to be a down few years for romantic comedies. I am not sure why. I skipped that Awkward Moment, according to critics that might have been a good move,  Two Night Stand went straight to video, which is not a good sign.

Birdman was good, maybe even really good. I wonder how it will hold up on re-watch.  Will this movie get some more dramatic roles for Michael Keaton? I hope so.

The biggest story of the year might be the Interview and the related Sony hack. That movie probably will be remembered for years but only because of the hack and major theater chains deciding not to show the movie because of other threats.

The most disappointing movie of the year might have the Hobbit the Battle of the Five Armies. Or maybe that is not quite the right way to say it. Turning that book into a 3 film epic was a mistake.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

