Top 5 films 2014

I am doing a top five films of the year so far list.  I was having trouble figuring out the order of the last 5 films for a top ten films list and I was not sure if I had number 10 right. So I figured 5 woulld work.

  1. Captain America the Winter Soldier
  2. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
  3. Guardians of the Galaxy
  4. X-men Days of Future Past
  5. the Fault in Our Stars

None of these films can be considered original.  Three are inspired by comic books, three are sequels, and one is adapted from a novel. (some of the movies are counted twice.) I guess I don’t have the right to complain about a lack of originiality in films.

The biggest surprise on this list is probably Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.  I liked it a lot more than I expected to like it. I did not see Rise of the Planet of the Apes but I was able to enjoy this movie anyway.

Guardians of the Galaxy was really good. The Captain America and X-men movies were both really good. Of the three the Guardians of the Galaxy was a surprise.

The Fault in Our Stars was pretty good.  I liked it a lot but I never read the original novel.  However I am thinking of picking up one of John Green’s other novels.

Leave a Reply

