LA Dragnet

Ed O’Neill stared as Detective Joe Friday in this short lived revival of Dragnet (2003 and 2004).  He was, at first partnered, with Ethan Embry.  They had stared in the movie Dutch earlier. O’Neill did a good job on the naration.

I am currently watching it on Hulu and it was pretty good.  I like what I’ve seen so far (5 episodes). I thought O”Neill and Embry made a good team.  I have read on wikipedia that Embry didn’t come back for the second season and the show was retooled.

It was not extraordinary and maybe there was a glut of police shows on at the time and it had a hard time getting an audience. That probably explains the retooling.

The show did not last long but  later O’Neill got Modern Family. In hindsight, maybe the show not lasting worked out for the best (at least for O’Neill).

Leave a comment