Posted in TV

TV thoughts 9-19-2013

I am still not sure if anyone watches even 2 hours of ESPN’s NFL pregame show (which is 3 hours long) or 2 hours of the new CBS Sports network’s new NFL pregame show (which is 4 hours long).  More than a hour just seems too much.   I thought I loved football as much as anyone but sometimes I wonder who watches more than an hour of pregame.   It just seems to me that you can burn out a bit on the NFL if you watch more than an hour of pregame, the two day games, and the Sunday night game.

I haven’t watched much of Fox Sports 1 yet.  I tried their version of Sportscenter (Fox Sports Live) and found it trying too hard to be funny.  I know people don’t need to be deadly serious about sports but I found it trying too hard to be funny and that is probably worse than deadly serious.  The network is only a month old, so it will probably evolve a lot in the next year and a half.  It probably needs more live events.

I cannot remember the last time I quit watching a game because the announcers are bad,  Some announcers are better than others but if the game is good, the announcer doesn’t matter as much.

 

Leave a Reply

