Posted in Movies

Movie Thoughts 9-15-2013

Rush opens in less than 2 weeks.  It looks good but I am not an auto racing fan.  I wonder if the movie might not be for me.  I am not a boxing fan but I liked the Rocky movies.  It will be interesting to see reviews.

There is going to be a Harry Potter spin-off.   (That didn’t take long.)  J.K. Rowling is going to write the screenplay, so she’s involved.  It will be her first screenplay and some authors have had trouble adapting to writing for movies.  (I cannot think of anyone except Raymond Chandler as an example at the moment.  He might not be the best example either.) It  could be interesting.  It will not be a prequel or a sequel.  It would be set 70 years before the Harry Potter series.

The Mortal Instruments sequel has been postponed or canceled.   It has probably been canceled but the studio says its been postponed. Unless home video sales are amazing or the movie suddenly gets a lot of money from the Chinese box office, this series might be one and done. I was surprised how much I enjoyed it.

James Gandolfini’s romantic comedy Enough Said opens this weekend. (That’s a sentence I am not sure that I thought I’d write.) I wonder what the response will be.  He was so well known as Tony Soprano that some people might not want to see him as another type of character.  On one hand actors like to try different parts and different types of movies but sometimes fans don’t want to the actors in different parts.  The basic plot doesn’t look too promising but trailers can be misleading and maybe it is more interesting than it looks at first glance.

The Spectacular Now finally came to my non-select movie city.  I am going tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

