Posted in Movies

the Way Way Back

I have seen the Way Way Back, it finally opened near my non-select city, I live in a non-select movie city and it can take a while for a smaller movie to get to my city.  I was starting to think it wouldn’t open near me at all.  (I guess the Spectacular Now is the current small movie I want to open near me.)

It is a good movie.  I enjoyed it a lot.  I thought for a while after seeing the previews that it was a more fun Adventureland.  I liked Adventureland a lot and this movie is somewhat similar.

This is the story of Duncan, a 14 year old boy spending the summer with his mom (Toni Collete) and her new boyfriend (Steve Carell) and his daughter.  The boyfriend, Trent, is a creep,  Duncan might be a bit withdrawn.

Duncan starts to work at a waterpark after meeting the manager Owen. Owen takes Duncan under his wing and Duncan slowly comes out of his shell.

Liam James is good as Duncan in his first movie and I liked Sam Rockwell as Owen  a lot.  Steve Carrel does a good job as the creepy boyfriend.  Annasophia Robb is likeable as Duncan’s would be love interest. Maya Rudolph is good as an assistant manager at the park.

This movie is at 84% on Rotten Tomatoes.

 

Leave a Reply

