Posted in Movies

Movie Thoughts 7-15-2014

For a moment, I thought I was in the wrong movie theater when I went to Despicable Me 2.  (I actually went to the wrong movie theater once but I figured it out and got to the right movie theater.)  The first two previews were for R.I.P.D. and Ender’s game.  That seemed a bit weird.  I was in the right theater though and the movie was pretty good.  Maybe it was a bit less good than the original but it was still worth seeing and I’ll probably buy it for my brother’s kids later.

There will be a Minions spin-0ff.  This could be good or it could be pretty bad.   I am not sure which is more likely to happen.

There was a preview for the Grandmaster before Pacific Rim, which would be the 5th or 6th movie about Ip Man in the last few years. (I have 3 on DVD.)  Ip Man taught Bruce Lee. This movie looks like it might be pretty good.  I don’t think it come to my non-select city.

There might be controversy over Ender’s Game.  Orson Scott Card, the writer of the novel, is anti-gay marriage.  Some people are calling for a boycott.   Lionsgate is trying to downplay his views, which aren’t reflected in the novel or the film. Well, the company can’t be surprised, Card has a history of not supporting gay rights.  (Even if there was a boycott, how could the studio be sure how much of an impact the boycott had?)  The preview for Ender’s Game looked good.

Leave a Reply

