Posted in Movies

Movie Thoughts 5-25-2013

Tom Cruise is leaving the Man from U.N.C.L.E.   I wonder who will replace him.  Maybe it will turn out good if Cruise isn’t in the movie, maybe the film will have a more comedic tone.   Or maybe the movie will seem different than Mission Impossible.  Or maybe the movie will still be good without Cruise.

I’d like it if Karl Urban got another chance as Judge Dredd.  I liked the movie and I thought he was pretty good in the lead role.  I think it would be hard to act with so much of your face covered by that helmet.

Quicksilver is going to be busy.  He is supposed to be in the new X-men movie next year and Avengers 2 in 2015.  That is kind of cool.  (He  gets two movies but Northstar doesn’t get any?)Just as long as he doesn’t wear the green costume.  (Okay, he can wear the green costume.) Actually, I am not sure how this whole thing will work out but it could be fun to see two different actors be Quicksilver.  Quicksilver was a late addition to the X-men movie.  Indeed, it seems a bit odd that this announcement came after the announcement that Quicksilver and the Scarlet Witch were slotted to be in Avengers 2.

Is Bryan Singer spending too much time promoting his new movie?  He seems to be tweeting about it a lot. I wonder if he is trying too hard to build anticipation.

I was going to rip Star Trek Into Darkness but after more thought it just didn’t seem right to rip the film.  Could it have been better?  Yes but it was still good.  Maybe the next Star Trek movie will be better.  (I am being optimistic lately.)

I have a little interest in the new Fast and Furious movie.   It is getting surprisingly decent to good reviews. I have less interest in Hangover Part III.

Leave a Reply

