Posted in Movies

Movie thoughts 1-13-2012

Gangster Squad is getting some bad reviews.  It is at 32% on Rotten Tomatoes.  Roger Ebert compared it to the movie Mobsters, which was not meant as a compliment.  I liked Mobsters but even I admit it is not great.  I thought Sean Penn as Mickey Cohen could be interesting and according to reviews, he might be the best part of the movie.  Richard Roeper likes it though.

Would the movie have been better if it hadn’t to be edited in the wake of the movie theater shooting in Colorado?  I guess we will never know.  I still think it was the right thing to do.

I can’t believe that I know someone who wants to go to see the Haunted House movie.  That movie looks pretty bad. I mean I am not the harshest critic or most demanding movie goer but it looks bad and it is 10% on Rotten Tomatoes,  Also some critics suggest the movie is homophobic.

Maybe I will go to a movie or two next week.

Leave a Reply

