Movie Thoughts 4-30-2012

I decided not to watch the Five Year Engagement or Safe last weekend.  I felt I could wait to see Safe latter.   Also Statham will be in the Expendables 2 later this year, so in a way there is no rush to see Statham’s new film. The Five Year Engagment just seemed like it might not work.  Maybe I will catch to both films later.

The Raven was good.  It was not great.  John Cusack was good, as usual.   Alice Eve was likeable as his love interest.  Ebert seemed to think it was average at best but Roeper liked it a bit more.  In this movie, someone is using Edgar Allan Poe’s stories as inspirations for murders and Poe is brought in by the police to assist them.  (This plot at least solves the challenges of adapting Poe’s short stories into a movie.)

Avengers opens in four days.  Early reviews are good but at least the ones I’ve so far don’t reveal too many plot details.  Apparently there will not be a cameo by Hank Pym (Yellowjacket) or Janet Van Dine (the Wasp).  That would have been nice.

I am getting tired of that preview for Savages.  Maybe the movie will be okay but it feels like I’ve seen that preview much too often.  Oh well, it opens in July, I think, so the previews should end soon, I hope.

Upcoming Movies  next three months that I know I will see

  • The Avengers
  • Men In Black 3
  • Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter
  • the Amazing Spider-man
  • the Dark Knight Rises
  • The Expendables 2

Upcoming Movies that I might see in the next three months

  • Dark Shadows
  • Battleship
  • Snow White and the Huntsman
  • Prometheus

I am not going to Adam Sandler’s new move.  I think I am done with Sander.  I guess I could change my mind if the previews look good.

Leave a Reply

