Movie Thoughts 3-28-2012

I went to the Hunger Games again.   It is funny that critics ripped Green Lantern for having too much exposition but I did not see any critic make any comment about the exposition in the Hunger Games.    Maybe the Hunger Games handled the exposition better.

Wrath of the Titans opens Friday.  I am going to see it this weekend.   The previews look good.  I liked Clash of the Titans.  Wrath looks a bit like Immortals, you can’t copyright the Greek myths.   The Titans in Immortals were all the same though.  I hope the Titans in this movie have more personality.

Mirror Mirror, the first of two Snow White movies this year, comes out Friday.  This one looks to be more comedic than the other one, Snow White and the Huntsman.  (That one looks like it will be serious and sort of epic.)  Julia Roberts is playing the evil queen.  Julia Roberts as an evil queen could either work really well or really fail.

I guess there is a shortage of ideas in Hollywood.  There are two Snow White movies coming out this year and last year there were 2 romantic comedies about “friends with benefits”.  I wonder how that happens.  Don’t rumors circulate about the studios are doing?

Reviews for 21 Jump Street really surprised me.  I still am not interested in it but maybe I will catch it when it pops up on HBO.

top five movies I want to see before August

  • Marvel’s the Avengers
  • the Amazing Spider-man
  • The Dark Knight Rises
  • Wrath of the Titans
  • Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

(Not a single comedy, romantic or otherwise on the list)

One thought on “Movie Thoughts 3-28-2012”

Leave a Reply

