Posted in Comic books

DC the New 52 a few early thoughts

This was the first full week of the DC revamp.  I bought four issues.   Sales seem to be good so far.

I liked Action Comics #1.  I though the art by Rags Morales was good.  The script by Grant Morrison was good. I like seeing a younger and less powerful Superman.  I thought the issue was very good and I want to see the next issue arleady.  I am not sure if I am interested in Superman by George Perez.

Stormwatch was interesting.  It looks like it will connect to Paul Cornell’s Demon Knights.  This series might also be worth checking out the next issues, although I think it is wrong to suggest that Apollo is more powerful than Superman.  I am not sure that I think that is a good idea.  The artist is new to me.

Hawk and Dove is getting brutal reviews.  I don’t think I have seen a good review.   Rob Liefeld’s art is getting criticized as awful.  (It is.  It was 10 years ago and if he gets other jobs 10 years from now, it will still be terrible.  It is dramatic.)  Sterling Gates did good work on Supergirl, so I think this is worth buying a few more issues.

Justice League International was good.  I like Booster Gold and I think he might be a good team leader.  This is also getting pretty bad reviews.  I don’t see why, it is a good traditional superteam book and it is also a first issue.   I think Rocket Red and August General in Iron will get more interesting as the series progresses.  The creative team of Dan Jurgeons and Aaron Lopresti is a good one.

Leave a Reply

