Posted in TV

Tv thoughts 10-19-2010

NBC really cut down on the number of people on Football Night in America.   I think the smaller cast works, I think the show had too many people in previous years.   I find Patrick less annoying here than he is on his radio show.  (I know, he is over fifty.  It is much too late for someone to tell him that he is not as funny as he thinks he is.)  I think taking Keith Olberman off the broadcast helped a little.  I think he and Patrick were trying too hard to be funny.

For a pregame show, I think an hour works best.  I think more than a hour tends to lead to a lot of speculation to fill time.  I think some of the cable news channels fall into that trap.  I think they have so much airtime that they tend to turn to speculation to fill time.

HBO is going to have a mini-series based on George R. R. Martin’s book Game of Thrones.  (That book is part of an epic fantasy series.)  That could be interesting but pulling off the large cast and the constant changing point of view might be a challenge.  I think this comes out next year, maybe in March.  It has been a while but if I remember correctly in the books each chapter is told from the point of view of a different character.

Leave a Reply

